1. Welcome to CAST's newly designed and improved Forum

Dismiss Notice

Aligning objects trusses to a centre point

Discussion in 'wysiwyg' started by Numberwrong, May 26, 2016.

1. Numberwrong

Numberwrong Member

Hi,

I’m new to wig and just finding my feet.

I am having problems with getting the objects in my drawings aligned nicely.

Let’s use a standard rock & roll festival stage as an example.

So the dimensions I know about are the size and height of the stage deck and the dimensions of the stage roof/structure. I start by adding the stage using the riser tool and add it at coordinates 0,0,0

I’m unsure about drawing the structure itself as I only have a PDF with the dimensions. The structure is made from truss but I don’t know what type.

Once the stage is drawn I just want to align everything else with its centre, ie a few trusses, a projection screen etc.

Is there a way of aligning objects with some kind of centre point, or the centre of the stage?

Should I be using 0,0,0 as the centre of the drawing not the bottom left?

Any pointers? Thanks

2. Firebrand

Firebrand Member

yeh, sometimes i'll have my stage "straddle" the 0,0,0 so that centre stage is at the zero, and all the way downstage, or something.
    it kinda depends on the venue/space that i'm working in.

have you considered moving your rulers?
    click the icon on the top left of your CAD window (where the 2 rulers meet) or right-click on the ruler, and choose Move Ruler (set viiew origin), then click where you want to set your zero point of origin.

you can also select a few other options, like Display Ruler at Document Origin (which realigns it with the original point of origin), or Display Ruler at Current View.

3. Numberwrong

Numberwrong Member

Thanks I'll give moving the rulers a go, Because the stage I'm drawing right now is symmetrical I think it would be good to use 0,0,0 as the centre of the drawing

How do I pick up and place objects from their centre?