1. Welcome to CAST's newly designed and improved Forum

Dismiss Notice

Help Creating Set Pieces

Discussion in 'wysiwyg' started by jacklampy, Jan 11, 2017.

1. jacklampy

jacklampy New Member

I was hoping to use Adobe Illustrator to vector out some existing artwork for set piece. That was fine. Not to hard to do that.

The trick(for me anyway) is figuring out how to bring that into WYSIWYG to use as surfaces for my set. They are flat, but have complex 2D shapes.

Maybe some one that has done this could suggest something. At first I I thought taking these vector files into Sketchup might be the trick, but I'm new to Sketchup too. I think this would be possible with a little more time, but I'm having trouble importing my sample DWG files into WYSIWYG in the first place. Someone suggested I import the PNG files as a floor plan and use WYSIWYG tools to create the surfaces, but they are very complex shapes and would require a lot of tedious time too build. My second issue with that is I can't for the life of me figure out how to scale the image to the size I want with the wizard or with illustrator to make it work. Everything I import comes in huge.

I made some basic shapes to represent the idea conceptually and the client likes that, but I really want to show them a final product and without this step, I'm a bit stuck. Any wisdom or advise would be highly appreciated.

See attached images.

Attached Files:

#1 jacklampy, Jan 11, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  2. roygbiv

roygbiv Active Member

This is a very interesting problem, however, I think you're in luck if I understood your situation.
    As far as I understand, you want to bring in 2d (flat surfaces) complex images, as a background or part of your set.